About us

The story of the Church of the Good Shepherd is essentially one of people and a building. That may seem a clear glimpse of the obvious but throughout the 120 years since its foundation the story has been dominated by these two aspects. The congregation, mainly drawn from the Roseburn, Murrayfield, Craigleith and Ravelston area of Edinburgh, has always been rather modest in its aspirations but has taken extreme care to consolidate the Church’s position as a place of quiet worship in a busy capital city which has now also become the political and commercial centre of Scotland. Its members are not by inclination given to extravagantly demonstrative worship but have ensured that the Church maintains a consistent witness to the Christian gospel, a fine reputation for music, a generosity in giving towards the wider church and a beautiful building.
Arts & Crafts Robert Lorimer

Since 1985 the Church of the Good Shepherd has been part of an ecumenical parish with Murrayfield Parish Church and Saughtonhall United reformed Church, sharing worship, faith development, mission and fellowship.

On 14 May 2009 the Rev Dean Fostekew was inducted as our Rector by the Bishop of Edinburgh. He succeeded Canon Timothy Morris who retired in August 2008. He is assisted by the Rev’d Brenda Johnson, Deacon.

The Church of the Good Shepherd is a registered Scottish charity and has charitable status. It is registered as charity number SC000357 with the Scottish Charity Register, under the name Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd.